The Best Cornbread Muffins EVER

25 years ago my parents went to Toronto on their Honeymoon. They stayed at a tiny B&B where my mom (ever the experimental cook) bought an unassuming little cookbook entitled Muffin Mania. She LOVED this cookbook. She taught me how to bake using this cookbook. Recently it’s become rather hard to find, and copies go for $60 on Amazon. That’s why this little cookbook is a treasure. It has every muffin imaginable. Blueberry muffins, morning glory muffins, lemon poppyseed muffins, and of course, cornbread muffins. My family eats them with chili for dinner, for breakfast, or for an afternoon snack. They’re delightful with butter, with honey, or by themselves. These muffins are like your perfect LBD – you can dress it up or down, but it’s always fabulous. Just like these muffins.

Literally the best muffins ever.

They, like many perfect things, are very simple. You may notice from the picture that I’m using half and half. DO NOT DO THIS. It’s delicious, but unhealthy. I was forced to use half and half because my parents don’t drink regular milk and I’m wary of using soy or almond milk in baking.

Just ignore the half and half. Use milk instead!!

I mix the dry ingredients together and then set them aside as I combine the wet ingredients. I used stone ground cornmeal because that’s all I had, but it was DELICIOUS. I highly recommend using stone ground cornmeal.

The lovely dry ingredients! I used stone ground cornmeal!

Mix until just combined, then spoon into muffin cups. I generally use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to distribute the batter into the cups.

Mmmm. Muffin batter.

No mini muffin cups this time – these are sturdy muffins built for sturdy snacks, not dainty bite-sized deliciousness.

Mmmmm. The batter is almost as delicious as the actual muffins!

After exactly 18 minutes in my convection oven, I have a pan full of 12 (well there were 12 before my family got to them…) delicious golden cornmeal muffins!

My family got hungry and ate some before I could take a picture of all 12 muffins.

The Best Cornmeal Muffins EVER (Courtesy of Muffin Mania)

1 cup flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

1/2/ tsp salt

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup cornmeal

1/2 cup butter/margarine

1 egg

3/4 cups milk

Preheat oven to 375º F. Mix dry ingredients together. Melt butter, add egg and milk and combine well. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and carefully pour in the liquid ingredients. Combine until just moistened. Fill muffin cups with about 1/4 cup batter. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown!

Comments are closed.

