Crafty Cottage Chic Picture Frames

So I have kind of an obsession with “cottage chic.” There’s just something about fresh white furniture and brightly colored accents that just sings to my soul. At present I don’t really have a space to call my own, so while I’m waiting for the perfect grown-up girl apartment to pop up (preferably with hardwood floors and lots of built-in shelving) I’m doing crafts. Crafts that someday will adorn the walls and surfaces of my adorable, cottage chic apartment.

I love love love these colors!

I saw this idea in Better Homes and Gardens, and the effect was so captivating that I had to try it. Rather than putting pictures in frames, why not put scrapbook paper in plan frames and hang that to create a pop of color? LOVE IT. I can’t really afford to go around buying a bunch of picture frames, however, so I bought a few plain wood frames at Hobby Lobby (they were around $2.00 apiece) and some scrapbook rub-ons to add a little interest. The rest of the supplies I had lying around.

Plain wood frame, rub-ons, scrapbook paper, acrylic paint.

I chose blues and white – they’re soothing and for me, really embody the allure of cottage chic. I wanted the frames to pop, so I chose contrasting colors for the scrapbook paper I put inside the frame. The great thing about this project is that you can swap out scrapbook paper at any time – if you’re fed up with green, why not switch it with a purple motif? The last piece of the equation was the scrapbooking rub-on. I also picked this up at Hobby Lobby. There’s a pretty big selection there, but you can find far more variety online at sites like Joann’s Fabric. Before I affixed the rub-on to the glass, I Windexed it just to make sure it was clean. If the glass isn’t clean, the rub-on won’t stay rubbed on. Since I don’t have a huge arsenal of scrapbooking tools, I used a wooden popsicle stick, and it worked like a charm. Just be sure to rub the whole design; otherwise it will try to peel up with the backing. In total, this project took me about an hour. A quick, fun, attractive craft, getting me that much closer to my cottage chic grown-up girl apartment!

Finished product!

Cottage Chic Picture Frames

  1. Assemble your materials: frames, acrylic paint, brushes, scrapbook paper, rub-ons, a popsicle stick, scissors (in case you need to cut the paper to size).
  2. Remove the glass and backing from the frames so you don’t splatter paint all over it (if you’re messy like me).
  3. Paint your frames, allowing at least 5 minutes to dry before applying the next coat. 3 coats should be enough.
  4. While the paint is drying, clean the glass from the frames. Apply rub-ons directly to the surface of the glass, making sure to affix each part of the design.
  5. Cut scrapbook paper to fit the frames.
  6. Re-assemble frames, and VIOLA! Attractive cottage chic adornments for your adorable abode!
